Creatures of Habit

The predictability of life

Ben Shelley
4 min readMar 17, 2024
Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

Human beings are truly creatures of habit, or at least I am.

There is a part of me that will yearn for new experiences and new investments in time, yet I always need to acknowledge where I came from.

Those endless afternoons spent wondering what was out and what I could do when now, sitting here on the sofa as my wife sleeps opposite me, I have just finished playing a game from my childhood, Advance Wars, rather than finish off Luigi’s Mansion, which would be new and exciting.

I love change but as human beings, we are hardwired to seek out comfort.

We search for years for a partner that will complete us, form that familial bond at home and have somewhere safe to come back to. We do not seek out cocaine-soaked nights at the end of a machete.

Habit

The Power of Habit is a fantastic book.

It illustrates how quickly and effectively, we as human beings can create habit loops, which can help to underpin our lives.

To help us learn a new skill by repetition. Our habits can underpin our lives or even create new ones to break away from our pasts.

Habits are essential to our sanity, as whilst life is a journey by which we desire to seek out new…

--

--

Ben Shelley

Someone who has no idea about where their place is in this world, yet enjoys writing about books, education, entertainment and videogames